A Jim of All Trades

Triathlon Race Report

leave a comment »

Last weekend I competed in another local sprint triathlon, my fourth and likely final for the year. I did this race last year as well. It’s only about a 15 minute drive from my house so it’s very convenient, which, along with the reasonable cost, is mostly why I did it. Here’s how it went…

Leading Up
I had a 5 week block between my last race and this one. I took the first week pretty easy and the following week I was off work and worked out a lot, though it wasn’t very structured. The remaining weeks were a mixed bag. I had some good workouts, but also missed some and got my schedule a bit messed up. I’m not exactly sure why that happened, but it’s possible I’ve gotten a bit burnt out on training… I’ve been going at it since January. I did get my key workouts in and don’t think my preparation suffered that much. A week out from the race I did a hard brick that went excellently, so I was really feeling ready to race.

The Swim
This was a 300 meter pool swim, swimming in a serpentine pattern from one side of the pool to the other. Swimmers started 15 seconds a part. Swimming remains my weakest leg but I’ve been working on it and was hoping for an improved time. I swam in my tri top; I had tested it in the pool and it didn’t seem to slow me down that much, so I figured it would be better to wear it than mess with putting it on in T1. Unfortunately I was still really slow and I do think the top had something to do with it. Not that I would have been super fast without it, I could just tell it was causing extra drag. I made it through fine but was super slow. Unfortunately I bumped my watch on a lane line and paused it in the second lap, so I don’t have data to go back to look at.

Time: 6:50
Last year: 7:06
Both include about 15 seconds of getting out of the pool and running to the timing mat. It was a slight improvement over last year, but still not good.

T1
Transition 1 went really well. It was my fastest T1 of any race I’ve done. I did try to do a running mount on the bike though and as soon as my foot hit the pedal the chain seemed to jump a tooth or something and I almost wrecked. I caught it and got going right away, just wasn’t smooth. More practice needed.

Time: 0:39

The Bike

I didn’t get my watch restarted until about a half mile in – total actual distance was 15.8 miles. I was hoping to average 21 mph for the bike segment and came up short at 20.7. My hamstrings and butt felt tight almost immediately when I got on the bike and they never really loosened up… I just didn’t feel as comfortable as I normally do. Not sure if I didn’t prep right, didn’t stretch/warm up correctly, or it just wasn’t my day. In any case, I got through without incident and, being a slow swimmer, passed a lot of people who were already out on the course in the process.

Time: 45:50
Last year: 46:24

T2
This transition went really smoothly as well and was the fastest T2 I’ve ever had. Nothing to complain about.

Time: 0:37

The Run

I started off the run too fast, like I always do, but also calmed down quicker than normal. However, as soon as I started running, I did not feel smooth or like my legs had any “pop” to them. I don’t think I over biked since my legs never felt right from the onset, though it is possible. The whole run just felt a bit more labored than it should have been. My plan was to start a bit conservatively but increase my pace as I went, hoping to finish with close to a 7:00 per mile average. I ended up not having the energy or strength to consistently go faster though and finished with a 7:20/mile average. You can see above how my pace was all over the place. The course was “officially” 3.1 miles, but actually measured longer at 3.17.

Overall
My overall time was 1:17:14 and I finished 12th overall out of about 140 and 4th out of 25 in my age group (10-year age groups, not the typical 5 years).

I’m not going to lie, I’m disappointed in how things went. It was good that I improved in each area and I am truly happy with my transitions, but I’m still really bummed about the swim and know I can do better on the bike and run.

That said, it was still fun. Even when things don’t pan out how I want them, I love racing! I knew a few people there too and had fun hanging out with them, so I had a good day, just am not pleased with my results.

What’s Next
I actually have a 10k on Saturday – 2 days away. I’m doing it with a couple family members who are runners so it should be fun. I have no expectations on how I’ll do for it and haven’t been training for it. I know I can finish, just don’t know how to pace the distance. Should be an interesting experience.

After that, I am 99% sure that I won’t do any more triathlons for the year. There is a duathlon I’m a little interested in but with the timing and where it’s located I doubt I’ll do it. I will likely do a 5k or two, and I know of a time trial a bike club is hosting that I might try. Otherwise I’m going to keep working out, though not quite as structured for a bit, and I’M GOING TO WORK ON MY SWIMMING!

Thanks a lot for following along – happy training and racing!

Written by Jim

August 10, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Comment

