A Jim of All Trades

Triathlon Race Report

leave a comment »

Yesterday I had my first triathlon of the year. Some things went well and some didn’t, but overall it was a good race and I had a faster finishing time than I had last year. This is a sprint triathlon my gym puts on each spring and as long as I’m doing triathlons I’ll probably do this race each year; it’s close, cheap, managed well, and it’s nice to support the gym.

Leading up to the race
I didn’t really taper for this at all since it’s so short and I’m targeting an Olympic race in May as my primary race of the year. I still did normal hard swim workouts Monday and Wednesday of last week, but did tone things down for my Friday swim. I also cut out a run and bike during the week and dialed back the intensity some, but it wasn’t overly organized and I still tried to get some miles and some harder efforts in.  I felt pretty good going into it.

I couldn’t sleep at all the night before and probably only got 3 or 4 hours in total, just because I’m obsessive about this. I finally did fall asleep very late and ended up sleeping past my alarm by about 20 minutes. Since the venue is so close I still had plenty of time to eat breakfast, load up the car, and get there right after transition opened. I got a decent spot, setup, socialized and warmed up a bit before the start.

The Swim
The swim is a 300 meter pool swim. I’ve truly been working hard on my swimming and had hopes of being faster than I was last year but things didn’t pan out – I was 16 seconds slower. I really don’t know what the deal was. I might have been too reserved… I have a habit of going out real fast and running out of steam a few laps into a workout, so I tried to hold back to keep that from happening. Otherwise, I’m just a really bad swimmer. It’s okay, I’ll keep working on it.

Time: 6:46
Last year: 6:30
(times include a 20-30 second run from the pool to timing mat)

T1
I didn’t swim in my tri top and put it on it T1. Two reasons for this were 1) I thought the top would cost me more time in the water than it would take to put on in transition (probably not true in hindsight), and 2) it was still a bit chilly and I’m a wimp in the cold, so I thought it would be good to have a somewhat dry top on and to wear sleeves. So in T1 I put on a top with sleeves to the elbows, which didn’t go as smoothly as I hoped because I forgot to unzip it in the morning and it’s very tight and I had trouble pulling it on over my wet skin. I was happy for it though and did feel comfortable through out the ride and run. Also, during my “running mount” on the bike, I had some trouble getting my feet on the shoes, which cost me. Still need to work on that.

Time: 1:15

The Bike
The bike course is a 16 mile out and back ride on rolling hills, with a loop built in as the turnaround. I’m really familiar with this course because I train on it all the time. I started out a bit too hard and dialed back the intensity as I went on, but I was able to keep my speed up and kept my effort pretty consistent after the first few miles. Looking back, I don’t think I would have done anything differently. Starting with such a time deficit from the swim there were already a ton of people out on the course, a lot of which I passed. One guy passed me while I had trouble getting into my shoes out of transition, but I quickly caught him and wasn’t passed again through the course. It stinks being so far behind as a poor swimmer, but passing a bunch of people does boost moral.

This was my first race on the new bike and, though I was faster than with my old bike, I don’t know how much was due to the bike and how much was due to improved fitness. On a short course it’s hard to tell. I’ll just take all the credit, I think, though that makes it harder to justify the bike purchase.

Time: 46:30
Last year: 47:13

T2
The second transition went well. I know I could still shave a few seconds off it, but overall I’m happy and I didn’t really goof at all.

Time:  0:46

The Run
The run is a mostly flat 3.1 mile out and back course; there are a few tiny hills, but nothing major. I had a bit of trouble finding my pace at first, but I think it leveled out by the end of the first mile. I wanted to push it and have a fast time, but also didn’t want to blow up. I managed to hold a decent (for me) pace and improved on last year’s performance.

Time: 22:28
Last year: 22:46

Overall
I’m disappointed in my swim performance and am going to keep working on that, but otherwise am pleased with the bike and run. I mean, I’d like to be faster all around, but I’ve made improvements.

My total time ended up being 1:17:46, almost a minute better than last year’s 1:18:39. I had hoped to be 2 minutes faster, but I won’t ignore positive results.

Anyway, it was good enough to earn me 3rd place in my age group out of 15, and 15th overall out of about 125. Could have been better, could have been worse.

What’s next
I’m not really taking much time to recover and am treating this like a hard workout, more or less. I’ll resume my normal schedule through the week, though will tone the first few bikes and runs down a bit. The Olympic I’m doing is in just three weeks so I want to get some good quality sessions in late this week and next week before scaling back for that race.

Well, that about covers it.
Thanks for reading and happy racing!

Written by Jim

May 1, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Comment

