A Jim of All Trades

Triathlon Training Report

leave a comment »

This blog has been quiet for a little while again so I wanted to do an update about my training and plans for the upcoming racing season. I haven’t been doing a lot of other projects recently but I do have another guitar planned, and now that the weather is getting nicer I hope to get out and shoot some photos again too, so I’ll keep this updated when there’s stuff to share.

Also, I got a “new” [used, but new to me] tri bike! I think I’ll write a separate post about it, so won’t go into more detail now.

On to the training…

I’ve trained consistently over the fall and winter. Last fall I really focused on my running and saw some improvements, then over the winter I really focused on my cycling, mostly on the trainer. You can’t truly “focus” on more than one thing at the same time, and I had read that cycling helps maintain run fitness while running does little to maintain cycling fitness, so my plan was to make gains running first and hopefully maintain the improvements while refocusing on cycling. I’m not so sure it worked that well. Though I did get faster running in the fall, when I tapered back down and shifted my attention to cycling, I lost a good part of what I had gained. I think I’m only marginally faster running now than I was at this point last year. We’ll see if this year’s race results are any different. All the while I consistently hit the pool as well.

Anyway, in January I shifted to regular tri training. I’m following my own program which is a mix of things I’ve gotten from other tri club members, what I’ve found online, and other programs I’ve used. I try to swim, bike, and run each 4 times a week (12 sessions total) but will drop an easy bike or run session when I have scheduling problems. In actuality I’m putting in 10-12 hours of total training time a week on average. Probably about 40% of my time is devoted to cycling, the remaining 60% is split pretty evenly between swimming and running.

The bike training has been very purposeful and I feel good about it. I haven’t gotten that much faster but I do think I’ve improved, and I’m getting longer rides in than I’ve done in the past. For running, I’m working on getting more miles in and do one or two sessions per week where I do track work, hills, and/or sustained efforts at higher paces. I’m not seeing much more speed, but it seems to be going okay. Swimming continues to be my biggest challenge. My endurance has increased, but overall speed has only improved marginally, if at all. My coordination and technique are the biggest issues and I’m just having a hard time improving. I have gotten a lot of tips from people in my tri club, other swimmers at the pool, life guards and coaches, all of which I’m grateful for, but I haven’t been able to turn the advice into improved results. I’ll keep working at it and might try another swim lesson or something. It’s definitely where I have the biggest room for improvement, and I am putting in more time/work at it, so hopefully I do improve some.

Finally, I haven’t had any more health scares and seem to be managing my hydration and sodium intake effectively, so that’s good. I might have to adjust things as we get into the hot summer months, but I have no concerns on that front.

The race season…

I have two races scheduled so far. The first is at the end of April, just two weeks away. It’s the local sprint tri I did last April, and where I did duathlons in years prior. It’s hosted by my gym and I really enjoy doing the race. I’m not treating this as an “A race” but do hope to be about 2 minutes faster than I was last year. That is an aggressive goal, but I still think obtainable. Goals should be challenging, and if I’m a little faster in each discipline and don’t mess up my transitions this year I can do it.

The second race is an Olympic at the end of May. This will be my first Olympic distance race and what I’ve been training for. I’m sure I can finish it, being competitive is the bigger concern. The race is at Raystown Lake, PA, which will make for a cold swim and somewhat challenging/hilly bike course.

After that, I don’t have any races officially scheduled. How the Olympic goes will help me determine what I want to do for the rest of the summer. I’m kicking around the idea of doing a HIM length race, but seriously doubt I’ll do one this year. There is a sprint not far from where I live in June that I’m interested in, so I might do that, and later in the summer there are a few sprints and Olympics not terribly far away that I could choose from. I’ll make up my mind later in May after the race.

Well, that’s all I have to report for now. I’ll try to do another post soon about my bike.

Thanks for reading and Happy Easter!

Written by Jim

April 15, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Comment

