A Jim of All Trades

Keystone State Sprint Triathlon Race Report

with 2 comments

Before I go on talking about triathlons, again, I just wanted to leave a note for those who have followed this blog for other reasons: I sort of got obsessed with triathlons this summer and haven’t done much else. Now that my racing season is over I’m going to work on some other things, so if you stick around a bit longer, there will be some other content sooner or later. There will still be some workout and bike related stuff, too, but I promise more variety is-a-coming. Thanks!

So, I had so much fun doing the last triathlon I posted about I decided to do another. Last Sunday I competed in the Keystone State Triathlon, doing the sprint distance race. There was also a shorter super-sprint, a longer Olympic distance race, and a sprint duathlon going on at the same time. I haven’t trained for anything longer than a sprint so didn’t consider doing the Olympic, and the super-sprint didn’t really seem appealing, so I stuck with the sprint.

The race had a half mile swim in a lake, an 18.2 mile bike ride, and a 3.2 mile run.

The Swim:
This was my first race in open waters and I was a bit nervous about it. It was also the longest swim I’ve done in a race, all of the others were 300m (a bit less than a quarter mile). Swimming is still my weakest area and I do bad enough in the pool, so I wasn’t expecting great things in the lake. I did make it there a couple weekends prior for two practice swims, so that helped a little. I also got a wetsuit; I was going to get one for next year anyway, so just fast tracked the plan a little. I used it in one of the practice swims, but the water was way too warm (over 80 degrees) on the race morning and they weren’t allowed.

My plan was to start the swim at the outside and to the back of the group so I wouldn’t have to fight for position and just get into my own rhythm. It worked fairly well. As the pack spread out I moved in more and there was a little bumping and brushing against other people, but not a ton. I did have trouble going straight and my sighting needs some practice, but I got through it. When I got to the exit and started walking (that’s right, walking) to transition my legs were dead. I was able to pick it up to a slow jog, but I’ve never felt that spent after swimming before.

T1
I’m happy to say that both of my transitions went well this race. In previous races I had some mishaps with gear, clothing, and almost wrecking, but this time it went smoothly. I still could have been quicker and smoother, but it wasn’t that bad.

The Bike:
The bike segment was 18.2 miles long. It consisted of a short road from transition to a 9 mile loop that was done twice, then back down the road to transition. It was the most challenging bike segment in a race I’ve done so far. Not that it was super hard, but it did have two sustained hills that I had to grind up in my easiest gear. I was really surprised to see a lot of people getting off their bikes and having to walk them up the hills. They could have been having bad days or whatever, but I’ve never seen someone walking a bike in a race before.

The first lap was harder for me than the second, I think my legs were just dead from the swim and they loosened up and I got comfortable by the second time through. I ended up being slower than I wanting to be. I had rode the course before and figured my speed would be in the mid to high 19 mph range, but I ended up averaging about 18.6. Coming off the hard swim just made it tougher, and I tried to hold back a little to have some energy left for the run.

T2:
As said above, the transition went fine. I just need to work on speeding them up now.

The Run:
The run was also another first for me – it was a trail run. I came to check out the place and ran around on the trails a bit a few weeks prior, but otherwise I’ve never done any trail running. They weren’t super difficult trails, but the ground was uneven in many places, there was gravel, rocks, tree roots, ruts, and other obstacles. All that aside, nearly the entire run was in the shade, so that was nice.

A guy ran out of transition a bit ahead of me and I sort of paced off him for the run. It just happened that he ran about the same speed as me so trying to keep up with him worked out well. I threw any hopes for a super fast run time out the window when I learned it was on a trail, but I’m relatively pleased with how it went. I ended up with one of my faster runs this year, with an asterisk that my Garmin said the course was more like 3.1 miles than 3.2, but I’ve noticed it’s read most courses to be shorter than advertised, so I’m wondering if maybe it isn’t accurate. Anyway, I can’t say I’m going to take up trail running.

Overall:
I set an overall time goal for this race of 1 hour and 42 minutes. I finished in 1 hour, 43 minutes, and 10 seconds, so I was just a little bit short. Had the bike went as I expected I would have surpassed my goal, but oh well. I’m not disappointed in the race at all. For it being my first open water swim, first trail run, and more challenging than I’m used to, I’m happy with how I did. I think goals should be challenging but obtainable, and I don’t lose any sleep if everything goes well and I just miss out by a little.

My finishing time put me at 14th out of 72 overall, and I got 2nd in my age group out of 10. The guy in 3rd was only 8 seconds behind me, and the next guy was only about 20 seconds behind him… some close racing. My bike time was 11th best overall, my run time was 15th, and my swim, well, let’s not talk about that.

Keystone State Sprint Medal Front-s Keystone State Sprint Medal Back-s

This is definitely my last triathlon of the year. I’ve really enjoyed doing them but four is enough for me this year and I’m going to take a little time to recharge and then will begin focusing on areas that need improvement. I’ll also probably fit a 5k or two in this year yet. At some point I’d like to post a recap of the year and talk about my future plans, as well as some bike stuff, but we’ll see how all of that unfolds.

Thanks a lot for reading and happy racing!

Written by Jim

August 29, 2016 at 11:08 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I sorted get obsessed” hahaha, I like it!

    sarahkimbonner

    August 30, 2016 at 4:18 am


Comment

