A Jim of All Trades

A Bedpan Guitar

leave a comment »

IMGP0566cxs

This is another guitar that I finished late in December, a bedpan guitar. I can’t take credit for the idea, just do a google search and you’ll find several others.
(more pictures at the end of the post)

The story behind this one is that my mother (a nurse with a pretty goofy sense of humor) saw a few at a festival she went to over the summer and asked if I could make her one. She thought it was funny and the bedpan reminded her of her nursing school days. It wasn’t very hard to make, it just took me a while to get to it. She was very happy with it.

I found the bedpan on Craigslist, which has to go down as my most interesting Craigslist purchase. I cleaned it so hard before doing anything with it, you can’t even imagine.

I didn’t shoot any video of it or record it, and it’s sort of hard to explain the sound. It sounds okay, but definitely different than a cigar box guitar does. Less volume (I think due to the lack of a lid and the bridge resting right on the neck) but sort of metallic-y and well suited for playing with a slide.

It was fun to do and I’m happy my mother enjoys it so much but I can’t say I’d make another.

Thanks for looking, hope you enjoyed.

IMGP0567xs IMGP0572xs IMGP0569cxs

Written by Jim

January 13, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Comment

