A Jim of All Trades

Cookie Tin Guitar

with 2 comments

I’ve made a few more guitars since the last one I posted about in June. One that I completed in December is a cookie tin guitar.

IMGP0561xs

It’s the same general concept as a cigar box guitar, but with a cookie tin as a resonator instead of a box. While I was making it my intention was to try to sell it to help finance another project I want to do, but after I finished and played it, I liked it too much so am not going to part with it. This just reinforces my original feelings that I’d never make these to sell… it takes away some of the fun in making them, actually making it sort of stressful with being concerned over details, and it’s just more fun to do it as a hobby and give them as gifts.

Anyway, this one does have a unique sound to it; it’s a bit more “plucky” and banjo like. Following are some photos and a short video of me playing it at the end.

IMGP0541xcs IMGP0538xs IMGP0542xs IMGP0539xs

Thanks for looking!

Written by Jim

January 2, 2016 at 10:08 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is so cool! Love it.

    Jennnifer Marie Arrigo

    January 2, 2016 at 10:12 am


Comment

