A Jim of All Trades

4 String Cigar Box Guitar

leave a comment »

I made another cigar box guitar.

IMGP9708xcs

This one is an electric four string. I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out, though I still have some room for improvement in my building skills. It looks, plays and sounds okay though, so I’m not going to be too hard on myself.

IMGP9711xs

Aside from one two string, all the other guitars I’ve made before this one have three strings. The four string guitar is tuned similarly to the three string ones, using an “open” tuning where striking all strings at once, either open or barred at any fret, produces a chord. They can be tuned any way you like, this is just the most common tuning. It makes playing pretty easy, at a basic level anyway. Learning the scale positions is a bit harder for me on this guitar with the “extra” string, but I’m figuring it out.

IMGP9716xs

I made a short video of me playing it to give an idea of what it’s like. My playing is sloppy at best, so please don’t hold that against the guitar, or against me – I never said I was any good. :) I’m playing it through a 20 watt Marshall tube amp turned down pretty low and with a fair amount of reverb. This is just a simple blues progression and I’m playing with a slide.


Thanks for reading and happy playing!

Written by Jim

March 8, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Comment

