A Jim of All Trades

Cigar Box Guitar #4

leave a comment »

I recently finished another Cigar Box Guitar.

IMGP9562xs

It had been a while since I made one and I had all the parts, so I figured I’d put one together. This one is a three string fretless “slide guitar”. It was a real quick and dirty build, I made a lot of little stupid mistakes. It turned out okay and playable though. More than anything else, I was doing it for practice using a jigsaw. I borrowed my dad’s saw to make the “f-holes” on the top of the box. I ended up using it for a lot of other cuts though, too. It’s a really cool tool and made the project a lot easier.

IMGP9540xs

It didn’t turn out perfect and I have a lot to learn with the saw, but I’m happy for my first try with it. This guitar already has a new home, I gifted it to my mother. She doesn’t play but thinks these are cool and seemed happy to receive it.

IMGP9565xs

Thanks for reading and happy playing!

Written by Jim

November 24, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Comment

