A Jim of All Trades

Working Out Recently (part 1)

with 2 comments

Though I’ve been physically active as ever, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything about it on here. So…

This past weekend I ran a 10k, it was my first time running one (an organized race, not the distance). I’ve run a number of 5k’s over the years and they’ve sort of lost their appeal to me, especially since I became interested in duathlons, so I decided I’d give a longer distance a shot. I’m glad I did it!

I started halfheartedly training for it about three months ago. I had been looking at various races around the area and this one caught my eye, so I began preparing for it even though I wasn’t sure I’d even do it. My interest grew as I trained and I signed up for it about four weeks ago.

My training plan consisted of running four days a week. I also lifted weights four times a week (more on this later) and I biked three times a week to at least maintain my biking conditioning. So that’s a total of 11 different workouts a week, which can get a little tiring. Anyway, I’d run longer distances two days a week, do about a four mile run once a week mixing in sprints and intervals to build up some strength and speed, and the other day I’d sort of wing it and do a distance I felt comfortable with, usually between three and five miles. This wasn’t a structured training plan I found any where, just something I came up with myself. I think it worked pretty well. My endurance and speed continually increased, though very slightly. The biking no doubt helped, too. At the beginning I couldn’t run much more than four and a half miles comfortably, but by continually working at it and gradually increasing the distances on my long runs I’ve made it to where I can do six to seven miles without much concern, though not at a break-neck speed.

My goal for the race was to finish with an eight minute per mile pace. Through all my training runs I was never able to accomplish that, though I got very close a number of times, so I figured as long as I was within a few seconds in the actual race I’d be pleased. I ended up doing much better than expected and finished about two minutes faster than I was planning. My minute per mile pace was about 7:39, which I was extremely pleased with. My time also ended up being good enough for 16th overall in the race and 4th in my age group. That doesn’t win you anything and I still wasn’t close to competing for a top spot (the winner was a whole minute per mile faster than me…) but I’m satisfied with myself. I guess I just ended up pushing myself harder due to the atmosphere, and another guy and I got into our own little personal race over the last couple of miles, so that definitely helped me run faster than normal. (I’m happy to say I won that little friendly competition!)

So overall it was a good experience. There was also a 5k and 1/2 marathon happening simultaneously, so there were a ton of people there, which made for a lively atmosphere. There were about 1,000 runners total between the three different races.

Now I think I’m going to scale back my cardio activity just a little bit. I won’t be doing any more races this year so want to at least maintain my current condition before I start training for a duathlon next year. I think I’ll run three times a week and bike three times a week for the rest of this year, then will jump into a training plan for the April duathlon. Okay, looking at it written out like that, I’m only cutting one day of running out of my schedule, which isn’t much, but it still seems like a big change. I’ll also be running shorter distances, so that’s a change too.

I’ll also note that I don’t intend on ever doing a longer distance race, like a half marathon. Runs just don’t interest me as much as the duathlons do. I might consider doing a 10k again, but I can’t imagine myself being a marathoner or anything like that, I really want to focus on duathlons next year.

I was going to talk about what I’ve been doing for lifting here, too, but since I said so much about the race I’ll just save that for another time. Maybe this week yet.

Thanks a lot for reading!

Written by Jim

September 30, 2014 at 10:12 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay! I love that little friendly competition! I always work better if I’m “racing” someone than if I’m alone ;) People just don’t always know that I’m racing them :) Ha! Congratulations! 7:39 for that many miles is an insane pace. I’m a terrible runner! I’ll never be a marathoner either, but you are much much closer than I am to being one — I’m very impressed. You’re working hard! How do you feel with your new training schedule — one day less of running? Are you worn out, sleeping hard?

    dinnersforwinners

    October 1, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    • Thanks for the compliments! I’ve been in a few races where I was beat at the end in the same situation so I’m glad I pulled this one out. :) New schedule started this week, so I’m not sure how I feel yet. As long as I get enough sleep I’ll be fine, but I’m not always good about that.

      Jim

      October 1, 2014 at 8:57 pm


Comment

