A Jim of All Trades

Cigar Box Guitar

with 2 comments

I made a Cigar Box Guitar!

z60-IMGP9672

So I don’t think that I’ve mentioned on here yet that I’m really into music.  I like a wide variety of music, but also enjoy playing the guitar and drums. I’m just a hobbyist and don’t play very often, but it’s a lot of fun and I really enjoy making music (or attempting to, anyway).

A few months ago I heard a radio interview with a guy who had written a book about Cigar Box Guitars (“CBG”). I had never heard of them before and was really interested in the interview, and at the end the gentleman and another guy played together on CBGs they had brought with them and I was hooked… I had to make one myself! I took a lot of time reading about them online and gather the parts, and after I got everything together I began making it. I worked on it for an hour or two at a time in the evenings after work, and for longer periods on weekends, and it took about a month to complete it working like that. The guitar isn’t without flaws, but this was my first foray into any type of wood working (if you can call it that) so I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. It tunes up and plays okay, and doesn’t sound half bad if I may say so myself.

There are countless resources online with information about these fun little guitars, so I’m not going to go into detail about the build here. If you’re interested just do a google search or two and you’ll get a ton of results. Here is a link to an extremely useful forum, too: http://www.cigarboxnation.com/forum Feel free to write me with questions as well, I’ll be glad to answer.

I did put together a slide show of pictures from my build. So if you’re interested, please watch the video below. That’s me playing it in the back ground; please don’t hold my crummy playing or the low quality recording against the guitar!

I plan on making more of these, though it will definitely take some time, but expect to see other posts about them from time to time.

Thanks for reading and Happy Playing!

Written by Jim

December 17, 2013 at 6:57 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicely done!

    mrmaxwellrocks

    December 17, 2013 at 8:09 pm


Comment

