A Jim of All Trades

Ode to Sheba

with 3 comments

Sheba was my dad and stepmother’s dog. She was very smart, well trained and behaved, and a lot of fun to have around. She lived to the ripe old age of 14, but unfortunately, due to some serious health problems, had to be put down recently. It’s okay, it was time.

Sheba-amberpic2

This is actually a somewhat recent photo that I “stole” from my stepsister’s facebook. Though I know I’ve taken pictures of Sheba, my personal pictures are really unorganized and poorly named and I couldn’t find any that I took of her. If I do come up with other pictures I might add them to this post later.

I never had a dog growing up as a kid, and though Sheba definitely wasn’t “my dog” she is the closest to having a dog of my own that I’ve ever had. (and that’s okay… I’m more of a cat guy) Still, Sheba was a great dog and I loved her about as much as one can reasonably love a pet.

IMGP8831xs
(I took this one, the day before she was put to sleep)

She will be missed!

 

Written by Jim

October 26, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Posted in Blogging / Writing

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh! So hard and sad to lose a pet. They become such good friends of ours on this earth. I hope she is pain-free wherever she is now. Do you think they will want another dog some day?

    dinnersforwinners

    October 29, 2013 at 11:53 am

    • They actually already got one! A black lab puppy. (It’s mixed with something, but mostly looks like a lab) Life was too weird without a dog, I guess. Kristin and I met him for the first time last night. He’s very cute and playful. It’s funny; my dad, who’s never been affectionate with pets and gave Sheba a lot of tough love (though he was very proud and fond of her), has turned into a huge softy with the puppy. He spoils it like crazy. It’s a side of him no one’s ever seen before, and we’ll never let him hear the end of it. :)

      Not a replacement for Sheba though…

      Jim

      October 31, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      • Oh my gosh I love that your dad is becoming a big softy for the puppy! How cute :) Sounds like he was just what they needed. Maybe he will help fill the hole Sheba left in their hearts. And maybe you’ll share puppy photos :)

        dinnersforwinners

        November 1, 2013 at 9:54 am


Comment

