A Jim of All Trades

Antique Auto Museum in Hershey, PA

with 3 comments

This past weekend I went to the AACA (Antique Automobile Club of America) Museum in Hershey Pennsylvania. Hershey, the sweetest place on earth, is less than an hour drive from my house. The museum is just one of many attractions in the area, but in the 10 years the museum has been open, I had never been there before. With some family visiting from out of town, it seemed like a good thing to do for an afternoon.

There were a lot of interesting vehicles there, everything from cars to buses to motorcycles. The two current exhibitions of interest were “The British Invasion” (British motorcycles imported to the US from 1940 through the 70’s) and “Pop Culture and Cars” which featured cars and items from the 50’s through the 70’s. My dad organized this outing and it was no surprise why seeing these things on display; he loves muscle cars and old bikes, both of which he’s had a few of over the years.

I of course had my camera along and here are some of the pictures I took. I’ve added some captions where possible.

A note on the pictures (just skip ahead if not interested in camera stuff)… These were all taken with my Pentax K-r in Museum mode. There was no flash and the camera basically just kept the lens wide open. I left ISO automatic but limited it to a maximum of 1600. When using anything higher, the ISO noise just becomes too distracting in my opinion. I’m reasonably satisfied with these. The kit lens isn’t very sharp when shooting at large apertures and there’s still a bit of noise, so these aren’t as crisp as I’d like, but they aren’t bad overall. I need to work on focusing, too. In most of these the front of the car is in focus but it fades out into the background (another consequence of shooting wide open) and I think it would be better to have more details in focus. So, I have to work on that.

Anyway, on to the pictures:

The Hershey’s Kissmobile was on display at the entrance.

IMGP7585xs

IMGP7586xs

IMGP7590xs

IMGP7598xs

I don’t consider myself a huge street rod fan, but thought this car was gorgeous!

IMGP7600xs

IMGP7599xs

1962 El Tiburon Shark – neat story behind this

IMGP7609xs

1969 AMC AMX:

IMGP7611xs

1978 Pontiac Firebird Trans-AM:

IMGP7620xs

1988 Porsche 959 coupe – fastest street legal production car in the world when it was first made.

IMGP7613xs

1969 Dodge Super Bee:

IMGP7615xs

I always thought these BSA’s were too cool…

IMGP7630xs

IMGP7633xs

This Triumph, the X75 Hurricane, was of particular interest to my dad. He owned one back in the 70’s (forget if he bought it new or used) and had told me quite about it, but I’d never seen one in person before. This one is a modified drag bike, but it is still really cool. It’s a three cylinder with the exhaust exiting to the right side. Dad said when getting deep in corners you could sometimes get the exhaust to drag on the ground a bit. One of the many things he wishes he still had today…

IMGP7641xs

IMGP7642xs

Triumph bobber. I think it would be awesome to build a bobber someday, they are much cooler than choppers, in my opinion.

IMGP7638xs

Briggs & Straton Motor Wheel:

IMGP7644xs

Finally, I didn’t take any pictures of buses, of which there were many, except for this one of an old bus line logo. Peter Pan looks a little scary, and almost like he’s sneaking up on something, doesn’t he?

IMGP7646xs

Written by Jim

July 2, 2013 at 10:50 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those Triumphs!! Gorgeous. Everything is so sharp & colorful! Great job :)

    dinnersforwinners

    July 3, 2013 at 11:10 am

    • Thanks Sophie! Yeah, those Triumphs were sooo nice.

      Do you still have a bike? A Rebel, right?

      Jim

      July 4, 2013 at 12:37 pm


Comment

