A Jim of All Trades

Chickies Rock

with 3 comments

Today my wife and I went to Chickies Rock, a park that isn’t very far from where we live. There are a lot of hiking trails and a lot of things to see, but the main attraction is the rock and its views. It’s a cliff that over hangs a river and its very scenic. We packed a picnic lunch and had fun taking in the scenery and hanging out for a bit.

Of course I brought my new camera along and took some shots. These are all edited at least a little. I’m having a little trouble getting white balance and contrast how I want it out of the camera. It’s a learning process and I’ll get there. Anyway, not that the pictures are perfect now, but they’re a little better than they were prior to editing.

The trail leading to the overlook, though this was actually taken on the walk back down…

IMGP6793xs

The overlook and view…

IMGP6779xs

IMGP6717xss

IMGP6723xs

IMGP6755xs

IMGP6711xss

A train track runs along the side of the river and while we were up there a train went by. I *think* its carrying natural gas, but that’s just an educated guess.

IMGP6746xs

IMGP6750xss

Oh the way back down this guy came running by us and went sprint off the trail up this steep hill. the picture doesn’t do it justice, toward the top he was more climbing than running. Either the dude didn’t know how to read to the sign, or he was exercising. We may never know.

IMGP6787xss

And this is just a flower from outside my house to end with

IMGP6689xs

Written by Jim

May 25, 2013 at 11:07 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post! I adore picnics — Nathan really doesnt — so your day sounds just lovely, in my opinion :) Love the guy ignoring the trail, too! Haha. Your photos look great, I especially love the third shot here! Your white balance seems really good for outdoor shots, to me. Outdoor is so tricky with bright sunlight and harsh shadows. Keep shooting! You’re doing wonderfully!

    dinnersforwinners

    May 28, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    • Thanks Sophie! There’s a bit of photo shopping on all of these, so yeah… but I guess that’s acceptable. I just now noticed some dust spots. Ugh, need to pay closer attention to detail I guess. Oh well. And how can he not like picnics??

      Jim

      May 29, 2013 at 10:45 pm

      • Of course photoshopping is acceptable! I wouldn’t post a photo on my blog without it — personally, that is how I roll :) I dont understand why Nathan doesn’t enjoy eating outside! It’s one of the best things, when the weather is just right.

        dinnersforwinners

        May 30, 2013 at 11:16 am


Comment

