A Jim of All Trades

A New Camera!!

with 5 comments

With my point and shoot on the fritz, and with the approval of my amazing supportive wife, I finally got a DSLR! A Pentax K-r:

Not being able to get a good picture of my actual camera, I am linking to a stock photo found at this online review.

The K-r is an entry level DSLR, released in 2010 and I believe discontinued (as in, an updated model came out to replace it) in late 2011. I found mine used online. It has a low shutter count and is in good overall condition. With my budget, I simply had to get used, and from all the research I’ve done I believe this is the best camera out there for me for the money.

I got it on Saturday and shot about 200 photos this weekend. I’m in love. Most of those shots were of the same objects, getting to know the camera… take a shot, tweak the settings, take another shot, tweak the settings again, over and over. I definitely have a lot to learn, but I’m going to love the process and am very happy with the results I’m able to get already. Considering I’m just beginning, things can only improve. Well, I do have some experience from shooting with film SLRs for a few years already, but there are a lot more options with this camera compared to the old film cameras I’ve owned. So yeah, I have a lot to learn, but I’m very pleased so far.

Here are just a few of the hand held shots I took this weekend.  There was no post processing done to them, the images are as they were straight out of the camera, except for re-sized. I don’t remember the specific setting for each of them, but none were “auto” or default settings. There’s definitely room for improvement with these, but I think it’s a good start. Unfortunately it was a gloomy rainy weekend and conditions weren’t great for shooting so I didn’t get as many “keepers” as I wanted, but count on a lot more photo shooting this summer; I’m going to have a lot of fun with this!

IMGP6483s IMGP6601s IMGP6587s IMGP6608s

I goofed a little on the last one… I forgot to remove some settings from a previous shot and this turned out a little muted. Part of the learning process…

 

Written by Jim

May 20, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Posted in Photography

Tagged with , , , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations!! How exciting! This has been a long time coming :) Your images look really good! I think you and your new camera are going to get along famously. Especially since these are unedited! I struggle the most with white balance and with exposure — I’m getting much better at white balance, but it takes practice. And for food, it’s kiiiind of important :) And all the cameras I’ve ever used seem to expose a little on the dark side even when the meter reads smack in the middle. –Anyway, enjoy! I’m happy for you and looking forward to some amazing images, if you’ll share with us!

    dinnersforwinners

    May 22, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    • Thanks! It hasn’t been a week yet, but I’m still very excited about it. And yeah, white balance has been challenging for me. It’d be great if everything came out of the camera perfect, but I’m not getting as many right as I’d like. It’s a learning process, I know, and I am having a lot of fun shooting with it. It sort of clicked for me today actually that everything doesn’t have to be perfect as long as I’m happy with the end result, so I’m going to cut myself some slack and just enjoy shooting more. (and of course keep learning/improving) More pictures are sure to come…

      Jim

      May 23, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    • oh, I wanted to say, if anything ever jumps out at you that you think I could be doing better, please don’t hesitate to mention it… I really respect your judgement/abilities!

      Jim

      May 23, 2013 at 8:56 pm

  2. […] course I brought my new camera along and took some shots. These are all edited at least a little. I’m having a little […]


Comment

