A Jim of All Trades

SLR Pinhole Photography

leave a comment »

I finally finished a roll of film and though I’m disappointed in the results I figured I might as well post some of the shots.

All of the below were taken with my Canon A-1 film SLR loaded with Fujifilm 200 film.

I started the roll of film in October and only finished it a week ago. Most of the shots were just boring and aren’t posted. I was very excited about shooting the ones of the barn and shed, but was very disappointed to see that I hadn’t framed them well. This is one of my biggest challenges with the pinhole-SLR… to be able to use the view finder you need to have a normal lens on the camera, and the right focal distance equivalent of the pinhole, and I’m just not patient enough to frame the shot with a lens, then switch to the pinhole to shoot, then put the lens back on to frame the next shot… so I just “winged it” for these. Truth be told, I did try to use a point and shoot digital to get an idea of the framing, but you can see how well that turned out. Oh well, live and learn.

shed-2
1/2 second exposure

shed-3
1 second exposure

shed-4
1/2 second exposure

shed-1
1/2 second exposure

These next two are some shots I tried at night, obviously. I forgot to record the exposure length for them, but I’m guessing between 1 and 2 minutes for each.

Christmas Lights

Front Door

Written by Jim

December 26, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Comment

