A Jim of All Trades

My new ride

with 2 comments


I waaant to suuuck your bloood!!!
Alternate Caption:  NOM NOM NOM NOM

The teeth were on it when I got it, not something I installed. They’re funny and all but I don’t think I’ll keep them on. I’m just having a hard time imagining rolling up to a meeting and being taken seriously with a toothed car. Not that driving an old Miata will do much to establish my credibility, the teeth just won’t help much, that’s all. They are good for a laugh though… Driving home today I watched a lady driving through an intersection I was waiting at do a double take when she noticed them and she burst out laughing inside of her car. Maybe I should leave them on; people need to laugh, right?

Anyway, yeah, a 1994 Miata. It’s my new daily driver and I don’t have any special aspirations for it aside from keeping it running well, road worthy, and fixing a few minor things. I’ve put about 100 miles on it and so far so good. It really is a fun car to drive, I can see why they’re so popular for autocross and road racing. (see Spec Miata)

Like I said, I don’t have any plans for anything like that with it, but it should make for a fun, economical, and reliable daily driver. Here’s hoping, anyway.


HDR Picture.  The paint is actually pretty faded.

Written by Jim

August 1, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Posted in Automotive

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great car! I think I would do what you’re planning — remove the teeth, but enjoy the reactions they get in the meantime. My uncle Bob tried to teach me to drive a manual transmission in his convertible Miata. My ultimate humiliation came when we reached a stop sign at the top of a hill; I couldn’t get the thing to move forward without stalling, and before long, a car full of attractive guys my age pulled up behind us. Uncle Bob had to wave them around us. Ouch!

    This does look like a fun car and I bet the gas mileage is great!

    dinnersforwinners

    August 2, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    • Haha, funny story about learning to driving stick. I can only imagine how that felt at the time. :)

      So far so good with the Miata. It certainly isn’t anything special but will serve its purpose. MPG seems good so far, I’ll find out for sure next week. And yeah, the teeth… I’m planning a dentist appointment this weekend.

      Jim

      August 2, 2012 at 10:48 pm


Comment

