A Jim of All Trades

Pinhole Camera: 1st Roll of Film

with 2 comments

It didn’t take me long to fill the first roll of film with the Pinhole Camera I put together. I was very excited to shoot with it and to see the results so I didn’t waste any time. 

All of the following pictures were scanned in from that first roll of film. The film was Fujifilm ISO 200. Scanning the prints adds in extra noise, and dust spots and blemishes show up more, so the actual prints are a bit crisper and look better than these. 

1st shot taken with the camera:
Shutter was open for about 7 minutes

These next few were all taken in the countryside around where I work over a lunch break. Exposure time was about half a second for each.

(I realize this isn’t that great of a picture, I just like how it looks)

These last two were at a small cemetery in the town I live in.  Exposure time was about three seconds each.

Overall, I have to say that I’m pleasantly surprised. I was preparing myself for none of them even turning out, or being awful at best, but the quality of these few is better than I could have hoped. I have a lot to learn yet but I think it’s a good start. For the record, I managed to get 18 shots out of a roll of 24 exposure film. Of those, the eight posted here are the best, and of the rest, four were unidentifiable and the rest just not that good. So like I said, I have a lot to learn.

I’m really excited to shoot more with this little camera and think I’m going to have a lot of fun with it.

Written by Jim

December 30, 2011 at 10:25 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are fantastic! I want a pinhole camera! I especially like “ps-church-s-jpg.”

    dinnersforwinners

    January 10, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • Thank you so much Sophie! It’s the most fun I’ve had shooting photos in a while, I highly recommend it. Dropping off the 2nd roll of film for development today… oh boy!

      Jim

      January 11, 2012 at 6:11 pm


Comment

